#TCM – Medaska’s pick of the week

Hi all, this will be my weekly spotlight on a film I think all classic film lovers, like myself, should try to catch.  For next week (June 1 – June 7) I amtill choosing Richard Whorf’s Till The Clouds Roll By (1946), which will air on TCM on Monday, June 2 @ 5:30pm est.

I feel Till the Cloud Roll By is an underrated musical, and of course has my favorite Mr. Frank Sinatra to close out the film.  Robert Walker – in my opinion – gives a very good and well-balanced performance as Jerome Kern, writer of some the greatest music ever written.  You could also not ask for a cast full of more talent than this film features – the likes of Judy Garland (I believe the one and only film Frank and she did together), Van Johnson, Lena Horne, Kathryn Grayson, Dinah Shore, Cyd Charisse, and Angela Lansbury….just to name a few.

The story depicted in Till the Clouds Roll By is not the most accurate telling of the life and times of Jerome Kern, but it is very entertaining and endearing nonetheless.  It has great music and some of 1111the biggest stars of all-time in their prime.  The title, to me, could have been better.  Say for instance “Mr. Ol Man River”, or “All the Things You Are”.  My question to you guys is this, if you could retitle the film, what would it be?

Please try to catch Till the Clouds Roll By this Monday afternoon, on TCM you won’t regret it.

Rob

One comment

Leave a Reply

