In tribute to UNIVERSAL STUDIOS, a poster gallery

Universal Studios is celebrating its centennial this year and it is celebrating in grand style.  Aside from new, improved bluray releases of old favorites, the studio is also re-releasing classics on the big screen.  Fans are all abuzz.  I am, that’s for sure.  I have my tickets ready for this week’s screening of Alfred Hitchcock’s The Birds (1963) and cannot wait to see Robert Mulligan’s masterful To Kill a Mockingbird (1962) and a double feature of James Whale’s Frankenstein (1931) and Bride of Frankenstein (1935) in a couple of months.  There’s more and it’s almost too much to take.

Fans are not leaving all the celebrating of the films of the historic Universal up to the studio itself, however.  The blogosphere is replete with tributes.  I have posted two entries myself so far on Once Upon A Screen dedicated to this studio and Journeys in Classic Film is hosting a blogathon this weekend in honor of Universal, the Universal BackLot blogathon, featuring entries by bloggers that focus on tours, films, personalities, etc.  All that makes up the legacy of Universal written by the people who watch (and love) the movies.

I have a special place in my heart for classic film, as I mention in almost every post, but I love all film from all eras.  What’s good is good.  One of the posts I published as a tribute to Universal was a pictorial of some of the classic characters I’ve fallen in love (or fear) with through the years.  But I didn’t mention anything beyond the classic era.  So it’s no wonder, as the true film geek I am, that I am nagged by the fact I’ve not mentioned the fabulous films Universal Studios has released since the 1970s.  So, here it is – a tribute to Universal’s more modern film fare – a poster gallery of films that I love from this studio released since the 1970s.  Yet another tribute to Universal’s continued legacy.

1970

1971

1972

1973

1975

1978

1979

1981

1982

1985

1989

1993

1995

2000

2003

2007

2009

There you have it – a long gallery that features just some of my personal Universal favorites from the post-classic era. I absolutely love poster art, hope you do as well.

Happy 100th to Universal!

Leave a Reply

